Durres port concession (container terminal and port operations)
Status: Mixed: KLSH finding and parliamentary demands documented; arbitration status and Constitutional Court outcome not confirmed in sources reviewed.
Summary
The Durres port concession has been the subject of a State Audit finding and continuing political and legal challenges. Top Channel quotes the Supreme State Audit (KLSH) finding that the port concession procedures and implementation of agreements with private operators were carried out against the law, with damage stated at EUR 16.9 million.
Top Channel reports that the Democratic Party demanded a parliamentary investigation in December 2024. Search summaries also report that 37 opposition MPs appealed to the Constitutional Court in 2022, that a container-terminal concession was cancelled by court order, and that container investors brought arbitration against the state. These arbitration and court items were not opened in full and are recorded only as leads.
Key facts
- KLSH finding: port concession procedures and implementation with private operators were against the law; damage EUR 16.9 million (Top Channel, fetched).
- Democratic Party demanded a full parliamentary investigation in December 2024 (Top Channel).
- Pier 6 container terminal concession (35 years, awarded 2011 per search summary) reportedly cancelled by court order.
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- KLSH damage estimate of EUR 16.9 million as reported by Top Channel (audit year not stated in the page fetched).
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationCorruption and benefit to a small group of investors (opposition statements; not adjudicated).
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationPort concession described by the opposition as a corruption affair (PD statements).
Open questions (4)
- Year and document reference of the KLSH audit that produced the EUR 16.9m figure.
- Identity of the concession operator and award date for the Durres container terminal (not stated in the Top Channel page).
- Status of ICSID/arbitration claims by Durres Container Terminal and related investors.
- Outcome of the 2022 Constitutional Court challenge by 37 MPs.
Responses (0)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
Nothing recorded in this list.
Figures
Money trail →KLSH damage estimate, Durres port concession
€16,900,000
Incomplete figurelossSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Damage figure as quoted by Top Channel from the KLSH finding. Audit year not verified in the page fetched (search summary says 2014). Incomplete: basis of calculation not stated.
Date: 2014 · Payer: not found · Payee: Albanian state
- Concession of the Durres Port (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Parliament
Democratic Party demands parliamentary investigation into the Durres port concession
The PD requested a full parliamentary investigation, calling the concession a corruption affair (Top Channel).
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 3 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 3 sources
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- Dec 2024
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- not recorded