Ministry of Health (Albania)
Ownership as documented
Not applicable (public body).
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Name
- Ministry of Health (Albania)From the research record · cites:
- Albanian health ministry officials arrested on tender violation charges (opens in a new tab)SeeNews · journalism · EN
- Ministry of Health and Social Protection (Ministria e Shëndetësisë dhe Mbrojtjes Sociale)From the research record · cites:
- BalkanWeb: KLSH audit on oncology drug supply, 4 Oct 2025 (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 4 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
- Ministry of Health (Albania)From the research record · cites:
- Ownership
- Not applicable (public body).From the research record · cites:
- Albanian health ministry officials arrested on tender violation charges (opens in a new tab)SeeNews · journalism · EN
- State institution.From the research record · cites:
- BalkanWeb: KLSH audit on oncology drug supply, 4 Oct 2025 (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 4 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
- Not applicable (public body).From the research record · cites:
Description
Contracting authority for the 2015 sterilization and hemodialysis concessions. Separately, SPAK arrested seven health ministry officials in a tender case (year not shown in the source).
Other accounts in the research (1 field worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Description
- Contracting authority for the 2015 sterilization and hemodialysis concessions. Separately, SPAK arrested seven health ministry officials in a tender case (year not shown in the source).From the research record
- Health ministry. Responses cited: administrative inquiry into the oncology case (2024, search summary only); KLSH recommendation to set up a working group on oncology protocols (2025).From the research record
Contracts and money
- Public contract→KLSH referral of Health Ministry officials: laboratory PPP and respirator tenderSource label: Officially reported
Laboratory PPP concession (Sarande/Lushnje)
Evidence: KLSH-referred laboratory concession, EUR 104m over ten years (as reported).
- Public contract→Hemodialysis services re-tender 2026 (Shkodra, Lezha, Korça, Vlora, Elbasan): sole bidder, cancelledSource label: Officially reported
Health authority behind the tender
Evidence: Tender run by the Operator of Integrated Health Services, per procurement reporting.
Figures recorded for the cases linked to this organisation. A figure here is not necessarily paid to or by this organisation; check payer and payee.
Sterilisation concession (10-year)
€100,000,000
concessionSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Value as reported by Citizens.al and Shqiptarja (2023); not checked against the contract.
Date: 17 Aug 2023 · Payer: Public hospitals / Ministry of Health (as reported) · Payee: SaniService consortium
- SPAK issues 8 arrest warrants for the sterilization concession (opens in a new tab)Citizens.al · 17 Aug 2023 · journalism · EN
Sterilization concession contract value (10 years)
€71,000,000
9,700,000,000 lek
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Exit.al: 9.7bn lek (about EUR 71m) without VAT. A2 News and others cite nearly EUR 100m. Unreconciled; incomplete (VAT basis and total over 10 years unclear).
Date: May 2015 · Payer: Ministry of Health (contracting authority) · Payee: Investital-led consortium (SaniService per A2 News)
- The Three Healthcare Concessions of Minister Beqaj - Exit Explains (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · journalism · EN
- For the Sterilization of 100 million euros, Ilir Beqaj is separated from his comrades, trial begins at the GJKKO (opens in a new tab)A2 News · May 2025 · journalism · EN
Hemodialysis concession contract value (10 years)
€63,500,000
8,600,000,000 lek
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Exit.al: 8.6bn lek (about EUR 63.5m) without VAT. Balkanweb headline cites EUR 75m with a KLSH finding; unreconciled. Incomplete.
Date: May 2015 · Payer: Ministry of Health (contracting authority) · Payee: Evita shpk-led consortium (per Exit.al)
Combined annual value of three health concessions (free check-ups, sterilization, hemodialysis)
€21,800,000
3,000,000,000 lek
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Exit.al gives one combined figure for three concessions: 3bn lek per year for 10 years (about EUR 21.8m). Breakdown not given; VAT treatment not specified. Incomplete.
Date: 2015 · Payer: Ministry of Health · Payee: Concessionaires (not separated)
- The Three Healthcare Concessions of Minister Beqaj - Exit Explains (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · journalism · EN
Cancelled hemodialysis tender (Shkoder, Lezhe, Korce, Vlore, Elbasan lots)
No amount recorded
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Headline reports USD 45 million (not converted; EUR not given). Date not stated in the source. Tender cancelled after sole bidder declared winner.
Date: not found · Payer: Public procurement authority (lot owners) · Payee: Sole bidder (not named in source)
- Albania Cancels $45 Million Hemodialysis Tender After Sole Bidder Was Declared Winner (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · journalism · EN
Lab-services PPP for public hospitals (approx. EUR 100m)
€100,000,000
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Approximate figure from Tirana Times headline. Article date uncertain (search summary suggests around 2017). Not linked to a documented case; incomplete.
Date: not found · Payer: Government (public hospitals) · Payee: Albanian-led consortium
- Albanian-led consortium gets EUR 100 mln PPP to offer lab services to public hospitals (opens in a new tab)Tirana Times · journalism · EN
Laboratory PPP concession, Sarande and Lushnje, 10 years
€104,000,000
concessionSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Contract value as reported by Exit.al and Balkanweb (Jan 2022 / Jan 2023); Balkanweb also gives 'over 13 billion lekë'. Not checked against the contract.
Date: 27 Jan 2022 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: Consortium incl. Labopharma, Exalab France, AB Laboratory Solution BV
- Ministry of Health Officials Charged Over Concession Corruption (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 27 Jan 2022 · journalism · EN
- KLSH findings on COVID-19 tenders (respirators, lab PPP) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 6 Jan 2023 · journalism · SQ
Direct purchase of 54 ventilators (claimed); 5 delivered
€1,100,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Party-quoted figure (Koduzi, citing Together for Life). Incomplete: no contract document seen.
Date: 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: not stated
- Together for Life report / PD reaction on secret COVID tenders (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Feb 2022 · political-statement · SQ
COVID-19 procurement procedures (198), total value
€35,000,000
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: 'over 35 million euro' per PD quote of a Together for Life report. Incomplete; not verified.
Date: 12 Feb 2022 · Payer: health institutions · Payee: multiple
- Together for Life report / PD reaction on secret COVID tenders (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Feb 2022 · political-statement · SQ
Test-kit unit price, claimed secret purchase
€68
8,500 lek
contractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Unit price claimed by PD (8500 ALL = EUR 68 per Exit.al); market price claimed 2100 ALL (EUR 17). Per unit, not contract total.
Date: 21 Mar 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: O.E.S. Distrimed (per Exit.al, party claim)
- Albanian Government Bought Coronavirus Tests at Four Times the Market Price (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 22 Apr 2020 · journalism · EN
ISHP COVID-19 test-kit tender
50,500,000 lek
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 50.5 million lekë per Shqiptarja text (headline says 505 million). Incomplete: award value not found.
Date: 27 Aug 2020 · Payer: Institute of Public Health · Payee: not yet awarded in sources
- Testet per COVID-19, ISHP hap tender 50.5 milione leke per blerjen e kiteve (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 27 Aug 2020 · journalism · SQ
Bribe for Dricons tender (prosecution)
330,000 lek
paymentSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 330,000 lekë per Top Channel and Shqiptarja. Top Channel also states '3 million old ALL' in another paragraph. Conflict unresolved.
Date: 5 Jun 2023 · Payer: Dricons (via Vladimir Topi) · Payee: Joana Duro (via Laura Shteto)
- SPAK Prosecutor's Office reports on corruption and bribes investigation in the Ministry of Health (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 17 Jul 2023 · journalism · EN
- Korrupsioni per tenderin ne ministrine e shendetesise: Apeli i GJKKO le ne burg sekretaren Joana Duro dhe specialisten Laureta Shyto (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · journalism · SQ
Dricons winning offer, Lot 1 supervision tender
672,457.6 lek
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Winning offer per Shqiptarja summary; limit 805,872 lekë. Top Channel gives a different tender value ('6 million old ALL'). Incomplete.
Date: not found · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: Dricons
- Korrupsioni per tenderin ne ministrine e shendetesise: Apeli i GJKKO le ne burg sekretaren Joana Duro dhe specialisten Laureta Shyto (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · journalism · SQ
- SPAK Prosecutor's Office reports on corruption and bribes investigation in the Ministry of Health (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 17 Jul 2023 · journalism · EN
Hemodialysis services tender, five cities, 48 months (estimated limit)
4,590,000,000 lek
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Estimated limit fund of about 4.59 billion lekë per Albanian Daily News (headline USD 45m). Other outlets: EUR 50m (opposition) and EUR 75m (Spahia). Not an award value.
Date: 14 Aug 2026 · Payer: Operator of Integrated Health Services / Ministry of Health · Payee: Diaverum AB (sole bidder)
- Albania Cancels $45 Million Hemodialysis Tender After Sole Bidder Was Declared Winner (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 25 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
- 75 milione euro per hemodializen; Spahia: koncesion klientelist; KLSH zbuloi pagesa per sherbime te pakryera (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 14 Aug 2026 · political-statement · EN
2022 payments for unperformed services, hemodialysis concession (claimed as KLSH finding)
€1,000,000
99,000,000 lek
paymentSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Cited by Spahia as a KLSH finding; reported as about 1 million euro. Not checked against the KLSH report text.
Date: 2022 · Payer: concession payer (per Spahia) · Payee: concessionaire
- 75 milione euro per hemodializen; Spahia: koncesion klientelist; KLSH zbuloi pagesa per sherbime te pakryera (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 14 Aug 2026 · political-statement · EN
Transactions under verification (Delta Pharma-linked and pharmacy contracts)
€2,800,000
otherSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: 'up to EUR 2.8 million' per Report TV via Shqiptarja; no single contract value. Unnamed-source reporting.
Date: 29 Dec 2023 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: Delta Pharma-AL SHPK and related pharmacies
- SPAK po heton Ilir Beqajn per korrupsion dhe shperdorim detyre (Delta Pharma) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja (citing Report TV) · 29 Dec 2023 · journalism · SQ
Expired medicines allegedly purchased by predecessor
€26,000,000
lossSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Minister's claim as reported by Tirana Times (undated). No audit confirmation found.
Date: not found · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: not stated
- Albanian health involved in a scandal of expired medicine (opens in a new tab)Tirana Times · journalism · EN
Sterilisation services PPP concession (10 years), awarded to SaniService
€100,000,000
concessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Approximate ('about 100 million euro' per Shqiptarja, 17 Aug 2023); not a verified final value.
Date: 17 Aug 2023 · Payer: State (public PPP) · Payee: SaniService (per article)
- Koncesioni për sterilizimin: arrestohet ish-zv.ministri i Shëndetësisë Klodian Rjepaj (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 17 Aug 2023 · journalism · SQ
Investital LLC registered capital (per SPAK file as reported)
€1,000
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Registered capital reported by BalkanWeb from the SPAK file. Not a contract value.
Date: 17 Jul 2014 · Payer: not applicable · Payee: investital-llc
Officials and people linked
No person is linked to this organisation in the research.
Investigations and cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From 27 Jan 2022
KLSH referral of Health Ministry officials: laboratory PPP and respirator tender
KLSH, the State Supreme Audit Institution, reported Ministry of Health and concession-agency (ATRAKO) officials to SPAK for alleged violations of equal treatment in public tenders. The referral…
Status: Referred to SPAK (reported Jan 2022); trial stage reported Jan 2023; outcome not confirmed.
From 4 May 2015
Sterilization of medical equipment concession (health PPP)
A 10-year PPP for sterilization of medical equipment for public hospitals. Exit.al reports the tender opened on 4 May 2015, was re-evaluated after a complaint, and was awarded to a consortium led by…
Status: Trial ongoing per reporting; no verdict found. Beqaj released from detention per July 2026 reporting.
From May 2015
Hemodialysis concession (health PPP) and cancelled tender
Exit.al reports a 10-year hemodialysis concession valued at 8.6 billion lek (about EUR 63.5 million) without VAT, tendered in May 2015 and won by a consortium led by Evita shpk, which included the…
Status: Mixed. Cancelled tender reported. The status of the 2015 concession and any court outcome were not confirmed.
From Mar 2020
COVID-19 emergency health procurement, 2020 (test kits, respirators, masks)
In spring 2020 the Albanian health authorities bought COVID-19 supplies (test kits, respirators, protective equipment) through urgent, negotiated and in some cases secret procedures. The opposition…
Status: Allegations public since 2020; KLSH referral reported (Jan 2023); trial stage and outcome not confirmed.
Alleged purchase of EUR 26 million expired medicines (health minister claim)
Health Minister Anila Godo, as reported by Tirana Times, accused her predecessor of buying EUR 26 million of expired medicines and said flagrant corruption had been uncovered in the drug tenders. She…
Status: Ministerial claim; audit requested; no outcome found; date not confirmed.
From 29 Dec 2023
Delta Pharma and Ministry of Health medicine tenders (SPAK asset probe reported)
Report TV (via Shqiptarja, Dec 2023) said SPAK suspected former minister Ilir Beqaj of concealing assets through links to Delta Pharma, a firm reported as one of the largest winners of Ministry of…
Status: Media report of SPAK suspicion (unnamed sources); no official communique found.
From 14 Aug 2026
Hemodialysis services re-tender 2026 (Shkodra, Lezha, Korça, Vlora, Elbasan): sole bidder, cancelled
A 2026 tender for hemodialysis services in five cities had one bidder, Diaverum AB, which was declared winner on 10 September 2026. The tender was cancelled about two weeks later, the stated reason…
Status: Tender cancelled (Sep 2026); political allegations pending; no KLSH review of the 2026 tender found.
From 25 Jun 2024
QSUT Oncology Hospital: drug supply and chemotherapy allegations (SPAK case, 2024)
In June 2024, Albanian media reporting on a Report TV case file alleged that staff at the Tirana Oncology Hospital steered cancer patients to private clinics, split chemotherapy courses, and sold…
Status: Accusations (SPAK, 2024). Trial and outcome not found in sources read. KLSH audit findings reported October 2025.
From 5 Jun 2023
Ministry of Health tender bribe: Dricons supervision contract (Joana Duro case)
SPAK charged the Ministry of Health general secretary Joana Duro and specialist Laura Shteto, with the Dricons administrator Vladimir Topi and engineer Silvi Shehi, over a bribe linked to a…
Status: Verdict reported Nov 2023; appeal decision reported (date not shown).
From 27 Aug 2020
ISHP COVID-19 test-kit tender (50.5 million lekë, 2020) and price allegations
The Institute of Public Health (ISHP) opened a COVID-19 test-kit tender in August 2020 with a stated value of 50.5 million lekë. In April 2020 the opposition alleged the Ministry of Health paid about…
Status: Tender published 2020; price allegation unverified.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 5 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 5 sources
- Publisher
- SeeNews
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 4 Oct 2025
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- 27 Jan 2022
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 6 Jan 2023
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 25 Sep 2026