Zvernec land titles, sale prices and SPAK freezes (2024-2026)
Status: SPAK investigation reported open (June 2026 onward). Freezes reported; amounts disputed; release of company accounts reported by Shqiptarja. No charges found in sources read.
Summary
Reporting describes a chain of land transactions in Zvernec between Artur Shehu (Vlora businessman living in the US, not charged per BIRN), local parcels with contested ownership (residents say the land is village property under a 1991 land law), and buyers including Albania Land Development. The sale price is reported in several incompatible versions: about 5.5 million euros (agreement of 21 Nov 2025 per a search summary), about 122 million euros (April 2026 sale per AFP-based report via OCCRP/IDN), and a transfer of 'Albania Land Development' to Sazan Operations Holding for 10,000 euros (Nov 2025, Citizens.al). Kushner is reported (Albanian Daily News, 2026-10-08) to have said the land was acquired 'through a private transaction under Albanian law, for 230 million euros'. These figures are not reconciled by any source read.
SPAK opened an inquiry (press office on 2026-06-01: 'The matter is under investigation and we have no comments'). Reported freezes differ: about $195 million held for three days (Shqiptarja); nearly 200 million euros (Albanian Daily News, not officially confirmed); about 110 million euros in a notary's account (OCCRP/IDN); a court order of 10 June for more than 128 million euros (Balkanweb, not linked to Zvernec in the text). Prosecutors reportedly allege land was bought with illegally obtained funds and forged ownership documents (The Star, 2026-07-11, quoting SPAK wording as reported). Rama says the land is private, the state is not a party to any agreement, and the court disputes are for courts to decide.
Key facts
- Residents' dispute with Shehu's ownership claims has been in court for more than a decade (Tirana Times / BIRN summary); the 2013 ruling awarding 156 ha to the Shehu family is cited by Reporter.al.
- BIRN (2026-05-29): Shehu signed a development agreement as owner of about 108 hectares with Ferdinant Sulaj.
- Shehu requested duplicate ownership certificates for a 51,944 m2 forest plot (BIRN, via Tirana Times summary).
- Vlora cadastral notice related to Shehu's claim was reported before the Ivanka Trump visit (21-22 Jan 2026).
- SPAK press office: 'The matter is under investigation and we have no comments.' (Citizens.al, 2026-06-01).
What is proven
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- SPAK has said a matter is under investigation (press office statement, 2026-06-01).
- Asset freezes were reported; the exact measure and amount are not confirmed by an official SPAK statement in the sources read.
What is alleged
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- Forged ownership documents and illegally sourced funds used in land purchases (reported prosecutorial line, unverified in primary text).
- Land-value increase from 5.5 million to 122 million euros in a few months (search-summary reporting; a prosecutor probe into the valuation is reported).
Allegations and who made them
- SPAK/prosecutors reportedly allege that Shehu and associates bought land with illegally obtained funds and used forged ownership documents (The Star, 2026-07-11; attributed wording).
- Journalist Klodiana Lala (TV claim, per Balkanweb-linked search summary) alleged forgeries in the property history; this is an unverified allegation.
- Investigative reporting alleges that a Qatar-based transfer of $195 million reached Albania Land Development shortly before a freeze (Shqiptarja).
Open questions
- What is the true sale price and what did the Nov 2025 and April 2026 transactions actually record?
- Which accounts were frozen, for how much, and when were they released?
- What is the status of Shehu's court case and of the cadastral/ownership-certificate request?
- Does the SPAK probe extend to any buyer or to the government's role?
Responses
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Rama (Albanian Daily News, undated search result): the blocking of transactions is arbitrary and harmful to legitimate investors; he welcomes SPAK's review of land ownership history.
- Rama's office (Reporter.al/BIRN, 2026-05-29, Albanian text as reported): 'Zona në fjalë është pronë private dhe qeveria s'është palë në asnjë marrëveshje.' (The zone in question is private property and the government is not a party to any agreement.)
- Kushner (Albanian Daily News, 2026-10-08, paraphrase): rejects claims that the government gave the land to investors; the land was acquired through a private transaction under Albanian law, for 230 million euros.
- Redi Struga: did not respond to BIRN (per Reporter.al summary).
- Kastrati Group (Reporter.al fetch): 'We believe your questions should be directed to that company.'
Figures
Money trail →Reported Zvernec land sale agreement at about 5.5 million euro (Artur Shehu to Albania Land Development)
€5,500,000
contractSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Estimated value per a search summary; source article not opened. Conflicts with 122 million (AFP/OCCRP) and 230 million (Kushner statement, Oct 2026).
Date: 21 Nov 2025 · Payer: Albania Land Development (as reported) · Payee: Artur Shehu (as reported)
- Zvernec Wikipedia-style timeline (summary of news sources) (opens in a new tab)Timeline compiled from news (mirror) · Jun 2026 · journalism · EN
Reported sale of Zvernec land for about 122 million euro (April 2026, AFP sources)
€122,000,000
contractSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: AFP-sourced figure via OCCRP/IDN summary; the sale date and buyer are as reported. Disputed (see fin-ald-land-price-5-5m-nov-2025 and fin-zvernec-kushner-230m-claim).
Date: Apr 2026 · Payer: Albania Land Development (as reported) · Payee: Artur Shehu (as reported)
- Albania Freezes Assets in Kushner Resort Probe (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · undated · journalism · EN
Kushner's stated price for the Zvernec land: 230 million euro, 'private transaction under Albanian law'
€230,000,000
otherSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Statement reported by Albanian Daily News (2026-10-08), paraphrase. Not reconciled with 5.5m or 122m reports.
Date: 8 Oct 2026 · Payer: not stated · Payee: not stated
- Kushner Responds to Zvërnec Claims, Says Albania Project Could Reach €4 Billion (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 8 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
Declared total of the Zvernec development: about 4 billion euro (Kushner, as reported); about 5 billion combined with Sazan (Rama, as reported)
€4,000,000,000
otherSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Declared figure, not an investment record. Other reports: about 1.4 bn for Sazan; 2.6 bn lek declared for a 2.5-ha Pishe Poro site (Reporter.al). Figures differ across sources.
Date: 8 Oct 2026 · Payer: not applicable · Payee: not applicable
- Kushner Responds to Zvërnec Claims, Says Albania Project Could Reach €4 Billion (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 8 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
Reported $195 million transfer from Qatar to Albania Land Development, frozen for about three days (Shqiptarja)
No amount recorded
seizureSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Stated in USD ($195 million) by Shqiptarja; Albanian Daily News says nearly 200 million euro frozen but not officially confirmed; SPAK did not confirm the seizure per summaries. The Shqiptarja and Balkanweb versions say the funds were in accounts of landowners and later released for the company.
Date: Jun 2026 · Payer: Qatar (as reported) · Payee: Albania Land Development (as reported)
- Zhbllokohen 195 milionë dollarë për Zvërnecin, SPAK e bllokoi për 3 ditë (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · undated · journalism · SQ
- Rama Defends Zvërnec Investment Project Amid Reports of Asset Freeze and Ongoing Investigation (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · undated · journalism · EN
Reported freeze of about 110 million euro in a notary's account (OCCRP / IDN)
€110,000,000
seizureSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Reported by OCCRP and IDN per search summary; differs from 195m USD (Shqiptarja) and 128.4m (Balkanweb unrelated text). Not officially confirmed.
Date: Jun 2026 · Payer: not stated · Payee: notary account (as reported)
- Albania Freezes Assets in Kushner Resort Probe (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · undated · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Other
Ivanka Trump visits Zvernec area (21-22 Jan 2026)
Tirana Times reports she spent 21-22 January 2026 in the Zvernec area, visited St Mary's Monastery on the island and met PM Rama several times. Reporting links the visit to a property dispute (residents' claim vs Artur Shehu). No documented corporate role of Ivanka Trump in the companies.
Other
SRED reportedly acquires Universal Properties Project B.V. (parent of ZSAD)
Exit.al reports SRED acquired the Dutch shell Universal Properties Project B.V., described as the parent of Zvernec South Adriatic Development sh.p.k. Citizens.al (2026-06-08) instead says UPP's shares (306,000 euro) were transferred to Sazan Development Holding in May 2026. Year and buyer are contested between sources (see contradictions register).
Media
BIRN/Reporter.al publishes investigation on hidden owners of Zvernec developer
Reporter.al (BIRN): ZSAD established August 2024 (per article), owned through a chain of shells managed by Dutch Trust Management B.V.; the article says ZSAD is wholly owned by Redi Struga through Smart Construction Invest; Blue Industries Investment Holding B.V. owned by five anonymous Albanians, none above 25%; Struga described as intermediary for the Al-Khayyat brothers. Redi Struga did not respond. This conflicts with the Al-Khayyat ownership in Citizens.al (2026-06-08).
Police
Clashes at Zvernec site; police open internal probe; two private security licences revoked
Citizens.al (2026-06-01): State Police director Skender Hita ordered a special investigative group for the events of 30 May and asked the Directorate of Professional Standards to investigate the Vlora Local Police Directorate's chain of command. Licences of ShPSF Myrto Security 1.3A and ShPSF Major Security were revoked. Search summaries report protesters clashing with security forces on 30 May, and private guards being arrested after a protester was dragged away.
SPAK
SPAK investigation into Zvernec and Sazan protected-area and land changes reported (European Western Balkans; Politico-cited reporting)
European Western Balkans (2026-06-02) reports SPAK probes the Kushner-linked resort. N1 Serbia (undated June 2026) reports, citing Politico, that the Albanian prosecutor opened an investigation into the luxury project. Politico's original article was not found in search. Scope: procedures for changing the status of protected land and the funds used to acquire titles (per other reporting). SPAK press office on 1 June: 'The matter is under investigation and we have no comments.'
Other
ZSAD development agreement (dated 7 May 2026) appears in Central Bank system extracts
Citizens.al (2026-06-08): an agreement dated 7 May appeared in Central Bank system extracts on 3 June. Capital rose from 50,000 to 250,000 euro two days before. Counterparty and purpose of the agreement only partly described in the article.
Media
Citizens.al publishes documents on who controls Zvernec and Sazan
Citizens.al: ZSAD official owner UPP BV; UPP shares (306,000 euro) transferred to Sazan Development Holding (Doha, Al-Khayyat group) in May 2026; Albania Land Development sold to Sazan Operations Holding for 10,000 euro (Nov 2025). Kastrati group declined to comment and referred questions to the developer. Government: the KKTU does not verify property records.
Other
Affinity Partners (via PR agency) says it is not involved in developing Zvernec
Exit.al (dated 2026-06-10): Affinity Partners said through its PR agency that it has no role in developing the project and that any investor takes part in a personal capacity. Affinity declined to respond directly. Reuters (2026-06-13) reports a Sazan spokesperson saying partners, including Kushner, invested personally; Reuters could not confirm. Kushner did not respond to Reuters.
SPAK
Reports that the seller of the Zvernec land is suspected of faking deeds
The Star (AFP, 2026-07-11): the businessman who sold land for the Kushner resort is suspected of faking the deeds. Related search summary: SPAK wording 'purchased land using illegally obtained funds and forged ownership documents' (as quoted by The Star). Files reportedly do not accuse Kushner or the investors. Not charged per sources read.
International
US House Judiciary minority ranking member writes to Kushner on Albania records and $120m land purchase
Letter dated 24 Aug 2026 (press release 25 Aug 2026) from Jamie Raskin to Jared Kushner. Asks for communications with Albanian and US officials and records on purchase, financing and government approval of projects; says it will examine whether conduct warrants scrutiny under the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act. Says Kushner did not respond to an April request and that Affinity Partners ignored a follow-up. No subpoena power; copied to Republican chairman.
Other
Kushner responds to Zvernec claims: land bought for 230 million euro; project could reach 4 billion euro
Albanian Daily News (dated 2026-10-08, paraphrase; no direct quotes): Kushner rejected claims that the government gave the land to investors; says the property 'was acquired through a private transaction under Albanian law, for 230 million euro' and the development 'could ultimately reach approximately 4 billion euro if fully realized'. Does not say whether he acts personally or through Affinity. Fraud claims not addressed in this article.