Source label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.From 22 Jun 2021
The Llogara Tunnel is a 5.99 km road link on the southern coast, reported at about 190 million euros. The tender was reopened on 22 June 2021 after an earlier round was annulled. A consortium of Intekar Yapi and ASL Insaat won, according to 2021 reporting. SPAK alleges that Balluku, together with Evis Berberi and several commission members, predetermined the winner and gave unfair advantages to a consortium. The Democratic Party raised cost concerns in 2021 and said the winning offer was higher than the rival bid. Balluku denies wrongdoing.
Status: Under investigation. Balluku indicted (reported 31 Oct 2025). Immunity not lifted (12 Mar 2026). No trial verdict found.
SPAK's second tender allegation in the November 2025 indictment concerns Lot 4 of the Tirana Outer Ring Road, procured in 2021 by ARRSH. SPAK alleges Balluku guided the procedure and acted with…
Status: Under investigation. Part of the indictment reported in Nov 2025. Further accusations reported 7 Aug 2026.
Source label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.
SPAK's separate investigation concerns the alleged acquisition and fit-out of coastal villas. Search summaries report a Dhërmi villa seizure upheld on appeal (30 June 2026) and a Palasë villa…
Status: Under investigation. Seizures reported; no trial found.
Source label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.
Legal status: Not chargedNo criminal charge against this person is recorded in the sources reviewed.Source label: DisputedContested by the person concerned, or the evidence conflicts.
Prime Minister of Albania. Named in the McGonigal affair (US case against former FBI official Charles McGonigal). Publicly backs the SPAK inquiry into the Zvernec / Sazan project while saying the project continues. Has publicly criticised SPAK at several points in 2025 and 2026. Statements are recorded in claims[].
Conflicting records. The research files disagree; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
A luxury resort project on Sazan Island and at Zvernec (Vlore), linked in reporting to Jared Kushner's Affinity Partners and to the Qatari Al-Khayyat brothers. Reporting by Citizens.al, Reporter.al…
Status: Open. SPAK investigation ongoing per reporting to 21 June 2026. No charges against Kushner or Affinity found.
Source label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.
Reporting describes a chain of land transactions in Zvernec between Artur Shehu (Vlora businessman living in the US, not charged per BIRN), local parcels with contested ownership (residents say the…
Status: SPAK investigation reported open (June 2026 onward). Freezes reported; amounts disputed; release of company accounts reported by Shqiptarja. No charges found…
Source label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.
The Strategic Investment Committee granted strategic investor status on 30 December 2024 to Atlantic Incubation Partners LLC for a 45-hectare project on Sazan island (of a 562-hectare island), with a…
Status: Ongoing. No signed Sazan agreement or construction permit confirmed in sources reviewed. Zvernec works and permit status disputed. SPAK inquiry reported but…
Source label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.
SPAK arrested Tirana Mayor Erion Veliaj on 10 February 2025 (Citizens.al; some outlets say 11 February) on suspicion of corruption and money laundering, and placed his wife Ajola Xoxa under…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; defendant held in pretrial detention (as reported through 15 Sep 2026). No verdict.
Source label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.
The 2012 tender to sell the state oil company Albpetrol was won by Vetro Energy, a consortium with an offer reported at EUR 850 million. Rezart Taci is reported to own 51% of Vetro Energy, a stake…
Status: Tender annulled in February 2013. No criminal case found in the sources reviewed.
Source label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.
SPAK alleges that Ilir Meta used his influence to secure a lucrative contract between CEZ Shperndarje, the energy distributor, and DIA (Debt International Advisory), a debt-collection firm.…
Status: On trial at GJKKO (ordinary procedure); Meta in pretrial detention; no verdict found
Source label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.Conflicting records
Footage status: Footage unverifiedThe research could not confirm what, where or when the footage shows.Source label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.
Footage status: Footage unverifiedThe research could not confirm what, where or when the footage shows.Source label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.
Footage status: Footage unverifiedThe research could not confirm what, where or when the footage shows.Source label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.
Ombudsman drafting recommendations on use of force, including tear gas and rubber bullets
The Ombudsman told the Swiss Ambassador that it is drafting specific recommendations on police use of force during public gatherings, including standards for tear gas and rubber bullets. The page describes these as being drafted, not yet issued.
Erjon Vishkulli hit in left eye by rubber bullet during Tirana protest
Balkanweb (25 Oct 2026, fetched) reports that a rubber bullet ('plumb gome') hit 28-year-old Erjon Vishkulli in the eye during the 24 Oct protest, causing serious injury; initial care was at the Trauma University Hospital and the Military Hospital; he was then sent to Italy. Doctor Ermal Pashaj said a shot at head height can cause such damage. A Balkanweb search-result snippet (not opened) reports Tirana prosecution proceedings no. 7806/2026 under articles 248 and 250 of the Criminal Code, with footage and the victim's medical file reviewed. A Health Minister statement (reported in snippet) says surgery at Gemelli hospital in Rome saved the eye; a Ground News summary citing albeu.com reports a haemorrhage during surgery. These accounts conflict. The Bank of Albania footage request and 20 medical records in the brief were not found.
Ombudsman drafting recommendations on use of force, including tear gas and rubber bullets
The Ombudsman told the Swiss Ambassador that it is drafting specific recommendations on police use of force during public gatherings, including standards for tear gas and rubber bullets. The page describes these as being drafted, not yet issued.
Assembly approves Bank of Albania law with governor protection (reported, 84 votes)
Shekulli (29 Oct 2026) reports the Assembly approved the package including the Bank of Albania law with 84 votes for; against and abstain not stated; PM Rama present and left after the vote; provision: arrest and personal or home searches of the governor need prior Assembly authorisation when the case relates to his official function; the July draft had given this role to the Constitutional Court. CNA headline and Syri.net (Ina Zhupa interview, 29 Oct 2026) also describe the law as passed.
Albanian Daily News: government approves amendments to the Law on Assemblies and a compensation normative act
Albanian Daily News (28 Oct 2026, fetched) says the government approved amendments to the Law on Assemblies and the Council of Ministers approved a normative act on state compensation for businesses damaged by violence at gatherings. Amendments as reported: temporary restrictions on protests near public transport stations and terminals, ports, airports, schools, hospitals and cultural heritage sites (municipal councils may designate more areas); administrative fines 'from 10,000 to 500,000 lek' (no per-measure amounts); the State Police may ask for removal of messages calling for violence linked to assemblies distributed via social media, email or telephone. No article numbers. Whether these are drafts, bills submitted to parliament or enacted is not stated. The article does not name who proposed the amendments.
Reports of fines up to EUR 5,000 and gathering limits up to 72 hours in the package
BalkanWeb (27 Oct 2026, fetched) reports, citing La Libre: fines 'deri në 5 mijë euro' for people taking part in gatherings where violence or property damage occurs; gatherings may be limited up to 72 hours in areas with immediate risk of violence; compensation for damaged small businesses; targeting those who incite or organise participation of minors. The article calls it a 'projektligj' (draft bill) and 'paketa e propozuar' and reports no submission to parliament or approval. It does not mention masks, the 2001 law or digital organising, except in critics' remarks.
Rama said the bill would cover people staying in crowds where violence or looting occurs, damage to property, or concealment of identity. One report says maximum fine 500,000 leks and that Parliament approval is needed; no parliamentary vote was found in the sources reviewed.