Elbasan incinerator case
Status: First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023; later appellate and procedural status not confirmed
Summary
The Elbasan waste incinerator was concessioned in Dec 2014 to Albtek Energy under a BOT contract. Construction started March 2015 and the plant launched in April 2017. SPAK issued seizure and arrest warrants in Dec 2021. The Special Court's first-instance verdict of 5 Oct 2023 (reported by Top Channel) convicted Lefter Koka with sentence of 5 years 8 months and acquitted Alqi Bllako. Other defendants reported as convicted include Mirel Mertiri and Stela Gugallja.
The Elbasan plant was reported out of operation after June 2022 and again from December 2023 (Wikipedia summary, citing Politiko, Nov 2024). Procedural issues and retrial status for the Elbasan file after 2023 were not confirmed in sources read; search summaries mention a 2024 appeal and a case postponement but these were not opened.
Key facts
- BOT concession signed Dec 2014 with Albtek Energy (Wikipedia summary).
- Plant launched 18 April 2017 with PM Rama present (Wikipedia summary).
- SPAK seizure and arrest warrants Dec 2021 (Wikipedia summary; one source gives 15 Dec 2021).
- First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023 (Top Channel publication date 05/10/2023).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (2)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- First-instance Special Court verdict convicted Lefter Koka with 5 years 8 months and acquitted Alqi Bllako (Top Channel, 5 Oct 2023).
- Elbasan plant reported out of operation from June 2022 and Dec 2023 (Wikipedia summary, press citations not opened).
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationCorruption in the award and operation of the Elbasan concession (SPAK allegations, first-instance verdict reported).
Allegations and who made them (3)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationSPAK: Lefter Koka passive bribery and money laundering (Wikipedia summary, citing CNA).
- AllegationSPAK: Mirel Mertiri de facto owner of Albtek Energy (Wikipedia summary).
- AllegationSPAK: Klodian Zoto owner of Integrated Technology Service, which did the Elbasan works (Wikipedia summary).
Open questions (4)
- Koka sentence in Elbasan: 5y8m (Top Channel, 5 Oct 2023) versus 6y8m attributed to Koka in some Elbasan-related reports (search summary); the 6y8m figure is attributed to the Fier case by Top Channel.
- Mertiri and Zoto Elbasan sentence: Top Channel gives 6.8 years in a combined verdict; the search summary attributes 6y8m to Elbasan as well as Fier. Not resolved.
- Appeal status of the Elbasan verdict (search summary says a 2024 appeal changed the 5 Oct 2023 decision; not verified in an opened article).
- Elbasan concession value: about 28 million euro per the research brief; not verified in any source opened.
Responses (2)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Alqi Bllako: told court he had nothing to do with the incinerators (ABC News headline, text not opened).
- Telegrafi headline: Ahmetaj accuses PM Rama of influencing prosecutors and judges (headline only).
Figures
Money trail →Final value of the Elbasan waste plant per SPAK-appointed expert report
€26,072,756.18
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: expert's final-situation value of the plant as reported by Shqiptarja (29 Nov 2022). Not the original contract price (a search summary gives about 22 million for the contract; not confirmed on an opened page). Shqiptarja reports the contract estimate and final estimate were the same. Not additive with other figures.
Date: 10 Nov 2022 · Payer: not applicable (valuation) · Payee: not applicable (valuation)
- Ekskluzive: ekspertja e SPAK, inceneratori i Elbasanit kushtoi 22 mijë euro më shumë... (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 29 Nov 2022 · journalism · SQ
Elbasan plant cost (AFP, 2026)
€26,000,000
otherSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Definition: plant cost as stated in AFP reporting ('cost €26mil'). Rounded; close to the SPAK expert's 26.07 million but a different source and not additive. Snippet only.
Date: 9 Oct 2026 · Payer: not applicable · Payee: not applicable
- Toxic dust, blackened lungs and ghost incinerators (Malay Mail / AFP; seen in search) (opens in a new tab)Malay Mail (AFP) · 9 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
Treasury payments to the Elbasan concessionaire (no end date given)
€18,000,000
1,900,000,000 lek
paymentSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: 1.9 billion lekë (about 18 million euro) per Balkanweb, citing Treasury data. No end date in the article. Not additive with the 11 billion lekë combined figure, which is a different cut.
Date: Jun 2023 · Payer: Government of Albania (Treasury) · Payee: Elbasan concessionaire (not named in the text read)
- Inceneratorët 'dogjën' 103 mln euro deri në qershor 2023 (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 12 Jul 2023 · journalism · SQ
Lease of the seized Elbasan plant to a consortium (1 euro per day)
€1
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: Wikipedia says a state agency (APSK, full name not verified) leased the seized plant to a consortium for 1 euro per day after SPAK's seizure in December 2021. This is a daily rate, not a total.
Date: Dec 2021 · Payer: State agency (APSK, per Wikipedia) · Payee: Consortium (not named in the text read)
- Albanian incinerators scandal (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · wiki · EN
Government payments for Elbasan and Fier incinerators (per TI CEPI summary of Wikipedia/BIRN)
€70,200,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: amount the government paid for the Elbasan and Fier incinerators including VAT at 106 lek/euro, as summarised on the TI CEPI page. Not a Tirana figure. Both cases combined.
Date: Aug 2023 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Concession companies
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Government
VKM nr. 575 sets the procedure for the mixed concession / PPP for waste incinerators
Named as the base framework decision for the incinerator concessions (search summary of a Shqiptarja article on SPAK's file). The number and date come from that summary only.
Government
Elbasan BOT concession signed with Albtek Energy
Albtek Energy, represented by Stela Gugallja, signed a BOT concession for the Elbasan incinerator (Wikipedia summary).
Government
Council of Ministers decision nr. 907 approves financing for the Elbasan BOT concession contract (signed by PM Rama)
Search-result description of an official PDF: decision nr. 907 of 17.12.2014 (Fletorja Zyrtare nr. 202) approved securing the financing for the BOT concession contract for the treatment plant, signed by PM Edi Rama. The PDF returned HTTP 403 on fetch; the description is from the search result only.
SPAK
SPAK seizure and arrest warrants for Elbasan incinerator
SPAK issued seizure warrant for the facility and arrest warrants for Albtek owners and managers (Wikipedia summary; one cited source gives 15 Dec 2021).
SPAK
Klodian Zoto and Stela Gugallja declared internationally wanted
SPAK declared Zoto and Gugallja internationally wanted (Exit News, article dated 26 Jan 2022).
Other
Elbasan incinerator ceases operation (first stop)
Wikipedia reports the Elbasan incinerator ceased operation in June 2022, reopened in April 2023 per Mayor Gledian Llatja, and was out of operation again from December 2023.
SPAK
SPAK-appointed expert report sets the final value of the Elbasan plant at 26,072,756.18 euro
Expert report dated 10 Nov 2022, prepared for the SPAK investigation, gives the final value of the Elbasan waste plant as 26,072,756.18 euro. Shqiptarja (29 Nov 2022) reports a difference of 22,235 euro, and its headline says the plant cost 22 thousand euro more than the state paid. The excerpt does not fully explain this difference.
SPAK
SPAK files request to Parliament to lift the immunity of Arben Ahmetaj
SPAK's request for arrest and property checks, reported as filed with Parliament on 10 July 2023 (Top Channel, seen in search; date from search summary).
Media
Balkanweb: Treasury data show 11 billion lekë (103 million euro) paid for the three incinerators to June 2023
Article citing Ministry of Finance Treasury data via Open Data Albania: all three plants combined 11 billion lekë (103 million euro) through end-June 2023. Per-plant split in financials.
Parliament
Parliament revokes the immunity of Arben Ahmetaj
IDEA Democracy Tracker: Parliament voted to revoke the parliamentary immunity of former Deputy PM and MP Arben Ahmetaj, who is charged with corruption and money laundering and reportedly fled after an arrest warrant. The vote count is not on the page read.
Court
Elbasan first-instance verdict
Special Court verdict reported by Top Channel on 5 Oct 2023: Koka 5 years 8 months and 5 years disqualification; Bllako acquitted; Zoto and Mertiri 6.8 years, Gugallja 4.8 years (combined article, case attribution not fully explicit).
Court
Special Court of Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) in the Elbasan case
GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024, which the High Court later refused to change (reported 19 May 2026). A search summary says the appeal court convicted Koka also of abuse of office and added one year to his sentence; not confirmed in an opened article.
International
Ministry of Justice extradition request for Arben Ahmetaj to Switzerland reported
The Ministry of Justice filed an extradition request with Swiss authorities, announced at a Special Court session. Filing date not stated. Ahmetaj denies that a request exists (Balkanweb, search summary). Swiss response not found.
Court
High Court refuses to change Elbasan appeal decision nr. 43; upheld sentences listed (as reported)
Balkanweb, 19 May 2026: the High Court, sitting in council chamber, left decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024 in force. Named as upheld: Koka; Alqi Bllako; Pëllumb Abeshi; Bardhyl Çabiri; Serafin Papa; Jonida Zeqo; Mirel Mërtiri (in absentia); Stela Gugallja (in absentia); Klodian Zoto (in absentia); legal persons Albtek Energy and Integrated Technology Services. Decision date and sentence lengths not stated in the article.
Media
AFP report: Elbasan plant barely operated, Fier never functioned, Tirana plant never built (as reported)
AFP report, reprinted by Malay Mail (9 Oct 2026) and The Star (14 Oct 2026), describes the Elbasan plant as operating only a few months and now rusting, the Fier facility as never working, and the Tirana incinerator as never built. It gives Elbasan at 26 million and Fier at 23 million euro. Snippets only; the Malay Mail page returned HTTP 403.
Connections
Convicted in the Elbasan file; appeal decision nr. 43 (8 Nov 2024) left in force by the High Court (reported 19 May 2026)
Evidence: Balkanweb reports the High Court left decision nr. 43 in force, upholding Koka's sentence.
Named as convicted in absentia in the Elbasan file (High Court report, 19 May 2026)
Evidence: Balkanweb names 'Klodian Zoto (in absentia)' among those whose sentences were upheld; term not stated in that article.
Named as convicted in absentia in the Elbasan file (High Court report, 19 May 2026)
Evidence: Balkanweb names 'Mirel Mërtiri (in absentia)' among those whose sentences were upheld.
Named as convicted in absentia in the Elbasan file (High Court report, 19 May 2026); Austria extradition reported (search summary)
Evidence: Balkanweb names 'Stela Gugallja (in absentia)'. A Shqiptarja search summary says SPAK sent an extradition request to Austria and her lawyer opposes it; sources conflict on her location.
Signed CoM decision nr. 907 of 17.12.2014 approving financing of the Elbasan BOT contract (per search-result description)
Evidence: OpenCorporates PDF (HTTP 403 on fetch); description from search result only.
attended 2014 emergency committee; plant launch 2017 with Rama present
Evidence: Wikipedia summary: 5 Feb 2014 inter-ministerial committee with Rama present declared emergency; launch 18 April 2017 with Rama present.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 16 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 11 sources
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 5 Oct 2023
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- 26 Jan 2022
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 29 Nov 2022
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 10 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 12 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- International IDEA
- Date
- 14 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 19 May 2026
- Publisher
- SHTEG
- Date
- 17 Nov 2025
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- not recorded
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 4 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Malay Mail (AFP)
- Date
- 9 Oct 2026
- Publisher
- The Star
- Date
- 14 Oct 2026
- Publisher
- Transparency International CEPI
- Date
- Aug 2023
Source label: UnverifiedUnverified · 1 source
- Publisher
- OpenCorporates Albania
- Date
- 17 Dec 2014
