Ministry of Environment (Albania)
Ownership as documented
Not applicable
Description
Signed BOT concession contracts for the Elbasan (Dec 2014), Fier (2016) and Tirana (31 Aug 2017, contract reference 6597 prot per search summary) incinerators.
Contracts and money
Figures recorded for the cases linked to this organisation. A figure here is not necessarily paid to or by this organisation; check payer and payee.
Fier incinerator cost to state per year (headline figure)
€7,500,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Headline figure (ACQJ): non-functional Fier incinerator 'swallows' 7.5 million euro every year. Article body not opened. INCOMPLETE and unverified as to method; other reporting in searches gives about 22 million euro paid 2016-2020 (search summary, no URL read).
Date: undated · Payer: Government of Albania (Ministry of Environment / state budget) · Payee: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier sh.p.k
Tirana concession investment (privately financed per Top Channel/Exit)
€128,200,000
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: investment figure for construction of landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites over the 30-year concession (Top Channel: 128.2 million). Exit gives 128 million. Not the state effect and not the total over 30 years.
Date: 31 Aug 2017 · Payer: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV (private investor) · Payee: Ministry of Environment (concession grantor)
- Dutch company takes eco-friendly management of Tirana's urban waste (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · journalism · EN
- Special prosecution issues 12 arrest warrants over incinerator contracts (opens in a new tab)Exit News · journalism · EN
Fier BOT concession value (including VAT, per Wikipedia summary)
€35,000,000
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: BOT concession value to the Ministry as stated in the Wikipedia summary (about 35 million euro including VAT). The research brief's 28 million euro figure was not verified in any source opened.
Date: Oct 2016 · Payer: Ministry of Environment · Payee: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier
- Albanian incinerators scandal (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · wiki · EN
Fier construction contract with Energy Recuperator (per Wikipedia summary)
€15,000,000
contractSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Definition: construction contract value between Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier and Energy Recuperator Spa, signed 10 Nov (year not stated in summary).
Date: not found · Payer: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier · Payee: Energy Recuperator Spa
- Albanian incinerators scandal (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · wiki · EN
Government payments for Elbasan and Fier incinerators (per TI CEPI summary of Wikipedia/BIRN)
€70,200,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: amount the government paid for the Elbasan and Fier incinerators including VAT at 106 lek/euro, as summarised on the TI CEPI page. Not a Tirana figure. Both cases combined.
Date: Aug 2023 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Concession companies
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
Minister's claim: 45 million euro paid for Tirana incinerator by July 2022
€45,000,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: payments to date as stated by an official in July 2022 (Faktoje fact-check, search summary). Faktoje's rating of the claim and the official's title are not confirmed from an opened page (page fetch failed, DNS error). Other reports in the same summary cite 35 million (May 2022) and 3.3 million for first six months of 2022.
Date: 27 Jul 2022 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV
- Faktoje fact-check on Tirana incinerator payments (45 million euro claim) (opens in a new tab)Faktoje · Jul 2022 · journalism · EN
Treasury payments to Integrated Energy BV SPV (OpenSpending, per Faktoje summary)
5,100,000,000 lek
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: total Treasury payments from contract start to the date of the Faktoje article, in ALL (about 5.1 billion). Faktoje converted this to roughly 43.7 million euro at the then rate (search summary). Not opened; date of snapshot unknown.
Date: not found · Payer: Treasury of Albania (Government) · Payee: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV
- Faktoje fact-check on Tirana incinerator payments (45 million euro claim) (opens in a new tab)Faktoje · Jul 2022 · journalism · EN
Seized bank accounts of Arben Ahmetaj
€124,300
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: two bank accounts totalling 124,300 euro seized by SPAK in July 2023 (TI CEPI). Not directly linked to the Tirana concession in the source; the case field is an assumption and should be reviewed.
Date: 18 Jul 2023 · Payer: Arben Ahmetaj · Payee: State (seizure)
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
Property seized (611 m2, registered to F.M.O. sh.p.k.)
€1,000,000
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: value of property seized by SPAK as stated by Tirana Times (1 million euro). Owner entity F.M.O. sh.p.k. is named as registered owner; link to Zoto or Mertiri not stated.
Date: 8 Aug 2023 · Payer: F.M.O. sh.p.k. (registered owner) · Payee: State (seizure)
- Linking ownership of shell companies to fugitives: SPAK seizes Tirana's waste incinerator (opens in a new tab)Tirana Times · 8 Aug 2023 · journalism · EN
Officials and people linked
No person is linked to this organisation in the research.
Investigations and cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Aug 2017
Tirana incinerator case
The Tirana concession (landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites, 30 years) was awarded on 31 Aug 2017 to Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. with an investment of about 128 million…
Status: First-instance verdict reported; appeal decision of 14 May 2026 reinstating prison for Koka reported
From Dec 2014
Elbasan incinerator case
The Elbasan waste incinerator was concessioned in Dec 2014 to Albtek Energy under a BOT contract. Construction started March 2015 and the plant launched in April 2017. SPAK issued seizure and arrest…
Status: First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023; later appellate and procedural status not confirmed
From Oct 2015
Fier incinerator case
The Fier waste incinerator concession was awarded to Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier under a BOT contract with the Ministry of Environment (Wikipedia summary gives Oct 2016; a date inside…
Status: Returned for retrial at first instance (Dec 2024); later procedural developments not confirmed
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 2 sources.
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Raport perfundimtar i auditimit te performances me teme: Incineratori i Tiranes (opens in a new tab)
- Publisher
- Supreme State Audit (KLSH)
- Date
- Feb 2025