Arben Ahmetaj
Socialist Party (PS)
Legal status
Fugitive
fugitive
What this means: Reported as evading proceedings or an arrest order. This does not establish guilt.
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Legal status
- fugitiveFrom the research record · cites:
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
- Albanian Incinerator Scandal Suspects Declared Internationally Wanted (opens in a new tab)Exit News · 26 Jan 2022 · journalism · EN
- Ahmetaj nga arratia akuzon Ramen: Me do koke turku per te fshehur te verteten e inceneratorit te Tiranes (opens in a new tab)Telegrafi · journalism · SQ
- and 2 more in that record
- on-trialFrom the research record · cites:
- SPAK jep njoftim për Arben Ahmetaj, nën akuzë për 3 vepra penale (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 10 Jul 2023 · journalism · SQ
- Kuvendi vendosi: 117 deputetë pro kërkesës së SPAK për arrestimin e Ahmetaj (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 15 Jul 2023 · journalism · SQ
- The Ministry of Justice submits the extradition request for Arben Ahmetaj to Switzerland (opens in a new tab)Shteg.org · 17 Nov 2025 · journalism · EN
- under-investigationFrom the research record · cites:
- Kuvendi vendosi 117 deputetë pro kërkesës së SPAK për arrestimin e Ahmetaj (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 14 Jul 2023 · journalism · SQ
- Kuvendi i Shqipërisë i hap rrugën arrestimit të ish-zëvendëskryeministrit Arben Ahmetaj (Telegrafi) (opens in a new tab)Telegrafi · 14 Jul 2023 · journalism · SQ
- unknownFrom the research record · cites:
- 3 hour wiretap in Monaco: Ahmetaj releases wiretap (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 8 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
- Gazment Bardhi: arms trafficking through KAYO touches national security (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 2026 · journalism · EN
- fugitiveFrom the research record · cites:
- Source label
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
- Albanian Incinerator Scandal Suspects Declared Internationally Wanted (opens in a new tab)Exit News · 26 Jan 2022 · journalism · EN
- Ahmetaj nga arratia akuzon Ramen: Me do koke turku per te fshehur te verteten e inceneratorit te Tiranes (opens in a new tab)Telegrafi · journalism · SQ
- and 2 more in that record
- UNVERIFIEDFrom the research record · cites:
- 3 hour wiretap in Monaco: Ahmetaj releases wiretap (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 8 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
- Gazment Bardhi: arms trafficking through KAYO touches national security (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 2026 · journalism · EN
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
Profile
Former Albanian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Energy. Named by SPAK in the incinerator affair. SPAK requested his arrest in July 2023 and a parliamentary immunity vote was requested; he left Albania before it took place according to Transparency International. He denies the charges and calls the case political. He has been reported as internationally wanted since July 2023.
Response from Arben Ahmetaj
Denies the charges and calls them political revenge (TI CEPI page). Telegrafi: from abroad he accuses PM Rama of seeking to influence prosecutors and judges and of seeking his head to hide the truth about the Tirana incinerator (headline only, text not opened). Lobbying in US reported Feb 2024 (TI page).
Other accounts in the research (3 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Biography
- Former Albanian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Energy. Named by SPAK in the incinerator affair. SPAK requested his arrest in July 2023 and a parliamentary immunity vote was requested; he left Albania before it took place according to Transparency International. He denies the charges and calls the case political. He has been reported as internationally wanted since July 2023.From the research record
- Full record inand(id arben-ahmetaj); this entry covers the cabinet and legal-status angle only.From the research record
- Arben Ahmetaj is a former Deputy Prime Minister. SPAK asked the Assembly on 10 July 2023 to lift his immunity for arrest, over the incinerator affair (see. The Assembly approved on 14 July 2023 with 117 votes. He left Albania before the arrest, was declared wanted, and is being tried in absentia. A separate SPAK case concerns the BUKA bread-factory privatisation, with a hearing reported on 11 Feb 2026. Party membership could not be confirmed from fetched pages: one 2023 search summary calls him a Socialist deputy, but the fetched articles do not state a party.From the research record
- Subject of a SPAK request in 2023 to lift his immunity and authorise his arrest, which the Assembly approved on 14 July 2023 with 117 votes. Charged with money laundering (Article 287 Criminal Code), as reported in July 2023. He was reported to be outside Albania at the time. His party affiliation is not established in the sources read.From the research record
- Former Socialist deputy prime minister. In 2026 he published audio he says involves Ron Yeffet and the KAYO arrangements and confirmed in an interview the authenticity of recordings. His claims are his own and have not been confirmed by a court or prosecutor in the sources reviewed.From the research record
- Legal status detail
- SPAK sought arrest in July 2023 (corruption, money laundering, concealment of assets). Declared internationally wanted by SPAK in late July 2023 with Interpol notification (TI CEPI page). Search summaries report SPAK sent him to trial in absentia for a second time (Shqiptarja headline; text not opened). No 2025 or 2026 status found in any source read. The Wikipedia article (undated fetch) also says he is currently declared internationally wanted by SPAK.From the research record
- SPAK notice of charges (Shqiptarja, 10 Jul 2023) for three offences: (1) refusal to declare, concealment or false declaration of assets (Art. 257/a), alone and in cooperation; (2) passive corruption of senior state officials (Art. 260), charged six times; (3) money laundering (Art. 287 para. 2), in cooperation. Criminal proceeding no. 277/1 of 2022. The Assembly approved SPAK's request for arrest with 117 votes in favour (Shqiptarja, 15 Jul 2023; votes against and abstentions not stated). Buka sh.a privatisation case (existing case-buka-privatization): SPAK alleges abuse of office causing about 7 billion lek damage; trial in absentia; Ministry of Justice filed an extradition request with Switzerland (Shteg, 17 Nov 2025). The article does not say where he is. No 2026 verdict found.From the research record
- BUKA privatisation: abuse of office, on trial in absentia at the Special Court (Balkanweb, 11 Feb 2026, fetched). Incinerator file: SPAK request for arrest (10 Jul 2023, signed by Altin Dumani; asked for closed-door procedure; fetched Top Channel); Assembly vote 14 Jul 2023 with 117 votes in favour (Shqiptarja headline, search summary); SPAK charges reported in summaries as hiding assets, passive corruption in six episodes and money laundering; Interpol and extradition request to Switzerland reported (shteg.org title). He is also effectively a fugitive: declared wanted late July 2023. The trial outcome on the incinerator file was not found.From the research record
- Charged as reported in 2023; later status not found in this run.From the research record
- No charge or court proceeding involving Ahmetaj found in the sources reviewed for this topic.From the research record
- Response
- Denies the charges and calls them political revenge (TI CEPI page). Telegrafi: from abroad he accuses PM Rama of seeking to influence prosecutors and judges and of seeking his head to hide the truth about the Tirana incinerator (headline only, text not opened). Lobbying in US reported Feb 2024 (TI page).From the research record
- A2news search snippet reports him saying he is innocent and that US lawyers had found him not guilty (article not opened).From the research record
- Not found in fetched sources. A search summary reports defence lawyers saying he is in England; this claim is unverified.From the research record
- Ahmetaj reacted that his letters were in favour of the public interest and that the 2012 recordings were not relevant to lobbying (as quoted in Shqiptarja, 2023).From the research record
- Not applicable (speaker of allegations).From the research record
Related cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Jun 2025
KAYO, Elbit Systems and Ron Yeffet arms arrangements (Albania)
Albanian state defence company KAYO has reportedly concluded arrangements with Israeli defence company Elbit Systems (artillery, mortars, drones, production facility, aviation academy in Vlora).…
Status: Under investigation (SPAK searches reported; no charge or court finding found). Contract value not publicly disclosed in any official source found.
From Jan 2016
Rruga e Kombit (Milot-Morinë motorway): 2016 concession tender, Kastrati-linked consortium and toll compensation
The Milot-Morinë section of the Rruga e Kombit (A1/SH10, linking Tirana-Durrës area to Kosovo) was put out to tender in February 2016 by the Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure. Balkanweb…
Status: Concession in operation since the 2018 toll start (per press reports). No criminal case against Shefqet Kastrati or the concessionaire on this concession…
From unknown
BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case)
SPAK sent former Deputy Prime Minister Arben Ahmetaj to trial over the privatisation of the BUKA company, charging abuse of office. SPAK reportedly requested 22 witnesses. Ahmetaj is tried in…
Status: On trial in absentia (GJKKO); no verdict found
Linked through the connections map
From Aug 2017
Tirana incinerator case
The Tirana concession (landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites, 30 years) was awarded on 31 Aug 2017 to Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. with an investment of about 128 million…
Status: First-instance verdict reported; appeal decision of 14 May 2026 reinstating prison for Koka reported
A case listed here names this person. It does not mean they are accused in it; read the case page.
Connections
Open the map →named in SPAK investigation of Tirana, Fier and landfill (search summary)
Evidence: Shqiptarja headline: SPAK investigation of Ahmetaj also covers the landfill and Tirana and Fier incinerators (not opened).
- Government decision→Rruga e Kombit (Milot-Morinë motorway): 2016 concession tender, Kastrati-linked consortium and toll compensationSource label: Officially reported
Announced 48.5m compensation (Sep 2018)
Evidence: Exit.al (17 Sep 2018) reports Ahmetaj, then Minister of Economy and Finance, announced the decision.
former adviser to Ahmetaj (Finance and Economy)
Evidence: TI case page describes Gjoka as Ahmetaj's former adviser when Ahmetaj was Minister of Finance and Economy; start and end dates not stated.
- Court proceeding→BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case)Source label: Officially reported
Defendant tried in absentia
Evidence: Balkanweb 11 Feb 2026 (fetched).
PS and PD agree in Council of Mandates; Assembly votes 117 for arrest request (14 Jul 2023)
Evidence: Shqiptarja headline: 117 deputies in favour; Shqiptarja quotes 'PS-PD dakordësi' from the Council of Mandates.
What they said vs. what the documents show
What was said · 17 Sep 2018
'All the reductions [...] for the citizens of Kukës, for buses, for frequent travelers, amount to €48.5 million.' (English text as quoted by Exit.al; the original Albanian was not read.)
Speaker: Arben Ahmetaj
Government Ignores Contract, Offers 50M Extra to Rruga e Kombit Concession Holder (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 17 Sep 2018 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
Exit.al says no supporting data or calculation was given, and computes about 1.6 million euro a year (48.5 million over 30 years), in addition to the guaranteed 8 million euro minimum income in year one. The article cites contract art. 11.8 as requiring a reduced-price scheme without separate compensation.
- Government Ignores Contract, Offers 50M Extra to Rruga e Kombit Concession Holder (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 17 Sep 2018 · journalism · EN
What was said · Jan 2026
Ahmetaj (interview, Jan 2026): KAYO is a corrupt project that transfers Albanian state assets to private hands (quoted in reporter.al article).
Speaker: Arben Ahmetaj
Fluturimet sekrete ne Izrael (reporter.al investigation, reprinted by BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb / reporter.al · 28 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
No court or prosecutor finding in the sources reviewed; SPAK reportedly searched Yeffet's home in the KAYO case.
- SPAK Seizes Phone of Former KAYO Legal Director, Security Cameras Also Taken (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 2026 · journalism · EN
Timeline
Government
Government announces 48.5 million euro compensation over 30 years for reduced tolls
Per Exit.al (17 Sep 2018), Minister of Economy and Finance Arben Ahmetaj announced the decision 'last week'; the concession contract (article 11.8) requires reduced prices for frequent users without separate compensation; the state guarantees 8 million euro minimum toll income in year one. Exit.al calls this unjustified and likely illegal favouritism; no decision number is cited.
Linked: Rruga e Kombit (Milot-Morinë motorway): 2016 concession tender, Kastrati-linked consortium and toll compensation · Arben Ahmetaj
SPAK
SPAK charges Arben Ahmetaj; TI lists his former adviser Artan Gjoka as involved
Transparency International's case page (updated 08/2023) states Ahmetaj was charged in 2023 in the Incinerators Affair and lists Artan Gjoka, described as his former adviser when Ahmetaj was Minister of Finance and Economy, as politically exposed and allegedly involved in fictitious villa and apartment sales. The page does not give the day of the charge.
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Arben Ahmetaj · Artan Gjoka
SPAK
SPAK requests Ahmetaj arrest; immunity vote not held
SPAK sought his arrest on corruption, money laundering and asset-concealment charges. Parliament had not voted on the immunity request when Ahmetaj left Albania (TI CEPI). Note: a cited Reporter.al headline says the Assembly removed immunity; TI body text says no vote took place. Unresolved.
Linked: Arben Ahmetaj
SPAK
SPAK notice: Arben Ahmetaj charged with three offences (case 277/1 of 2022)
Charges: asset concealment or false declaration (Art. 257/a), passive corruption of senior officials (Art. 260), money laundering (Art. 287 para. 2).
Linked: BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case) · Arben Ahmetaj
SPAK
SPAK asks Assembly to lift immunity of Arben Ahmetaj for arrest
SPAK, signed by Altin Dumani, asked the Assembly presidency to lift the immunity of Ahmetaj, accused in the incinerator affair, and to allow a search of his apartment. The request asked for a closed-door procedure. The vote was to take place by 20 July 2023.
Linked: Arben Ahmetaj
Parliament
Assembly approves SPAK request to arrest Ahmetaj (117 votes)
The Assembly approved SPAK's request for the arrest of Ahmetaj, with 117 votes in favour as reported in headlines and summaries. Three opposition MPs reportedly abstained (names from a search summary). Ahmetaj was reportedly abroad. Date 14 July from a search summary; the Shqiptarja article is dated 15 July 2023.
Linked: Arben Ahmetaj
Parliament
Assembly approves SPAK request to arrest Arben Ahmetaj, 117 for, 3 abstentions, after PS-PD agreement in the Council of Mandates
Shqiptarja (headline) and Telegrafi report 117 votes in favour of SPAK's request and 3 opposition MPs abstaining. Shqiptarja quotes a Council of Mandates message 'PS-PD dakordësi' (PS-PD agreement) recommending arrest. The per-party split of the 117 is not in the sources read. Ahmetaj was reported to be outside Albania.
Linked: Arben Ahmetaj · Edi Rama
Parliament
Assembly approves SPAK request to arrest Arben Ahmetaj (117 votes in favour)
Parliamentary approval of SPAK's arrest request. Shteg (17 Nov 2025) reports he has been internationally wanted since July 2023.
Linked: BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case) · Arben Ahmetaj
SPAK
SPAK seizes Ahmetaj properties and two bank accounts
SPAK seized properties, documents, laptops, phones, USB drives and two bank accounts totalling 124,300 euro (TI CEPI page citing SPAK release).
Linked: Arben Ahmetaj
International
Ministry of Justice files extradition request for Arben Ahmetaj with Switzerland
Reported by Shteg. Buka case to proceed in absentia.
Linked: BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case) · Arben Ahmetaj
Court
Ahmetaj BUKA trial proceeds in absentia
Special Court proceedings for abuse of office linked to the BUKA privatisation; defendant tried in absentia.
Linked: BUKA bread-factory privatisation (Arben Ahmetaj case) · Arben Ahmetaj
Media
reporter.al article on Rama's Israel flight, Ron Yeffet and KAYO (claims, partly contradictory)
reporter.al (reprinted by BalkanWeb) reported that Rama flew to Israel about five months earlier on a chartered plane; the article says the charter was paid by Tzachi Nachmias in one passage and that the payer is unknown in another, so the payer question is unresolved. It also reports Yeffet's KAYO companies, Ahmetaj's and Kellici's claims, and a Florida lawsuit. It states no official investigation of Yeffet had been opened, and Rama's exact words on the security elements of the visit are not quoted.
Linked: KAYO, Elbit Systems and Ron Yeffet arms arrangements (Albania) · Edi Rama · Ron Yeffet · Saniel Sanilevich · Arben Ahmetaj · Mark Faist
Media
Arben Ahmetaj announces wiretap recordings involving Ron Yeffet on TV
On the show Cim Peka Live, former deputy PM Arben Ahmetaj announced recordings he says involve Ron Yeffet and KAYO, including a three-hour interception in Monaco and claims of arms trafficking. The article reports no confirmation from any court, prosecutor, ministry or police agency and states the claims remain his allegations.
Linked: KAYO, Elbit Systems and Ron Yeffet arms arrangements (Albania) · Arben Ahmetaj · Ron Yeffet · Edi Rama
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 16 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 14 sources
- Publisher
- Transparency International CEPI
- Date
- Aug 2023
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- 26 Jan 2022
- Publisher
- Telegrafi
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 10 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 15 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- Shteg.org
- Date
- 17 Nov 2025
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 10 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 11 Feb 2026
- Publisher
- Telegrafi
- Date
- 14 Jul 2023
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 8 Sep 2026
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 2026
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- 17 Sep 2018
Source label: UnverifiedUnverified · 2 sources
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb / reporter.al
- Date
- 28 Jun 2026
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 2026